Yes we Cannes! Colonel Badd posters up for film festival

19 Apr

Exciting news – x2! First, we now have some great-looking character posters for Colonel Badd, the short film I wrote about here. I loved Avengers Assemble, so it’s cool to be part of a terrifying team-up of scarifying supervillains. Every good story needs a strong hook, and in this one, I’m it (top left)! [Photography by Giulia Pizzi.]

Secondly, Colonel Badd has been accepted into the Short Film Corner at Cannes, and director Tony Errico (lower left) has been good enough to put me down for one of the precious Accreditations. So it looks all of a sudden like I’ll be going! If anyone knows anyone with a room/floor/couch available cheapish during the Festival, please email me. I’m a good cook, fun to have around, and fully house-trained.

Last time I went, I slept on Jon Ronson’s floor as he wrote gags for carrot-topped TV terror Dennis Pennis (aka Paul Kaye), partied on a yacht with the cream of young Brit talent such as Anna Friel and David Thewlis, danced in a beach marquee with James Woods, and lunched with Alan Parker and Barry Norman.

Then, I was Editor of Time Out. Now, I’m the lowest of the low on the film pecking order: the humble writer. Co-writer, even. But it will be fascinating to experience the other side of the festival – not the acme of international cinematic art, but the world’s biggest commercial movie fair.

Click on the ‘Follow’ button so as not to miss my blogs from Cannes next month!

3 Responses to “Yes we Cannes! Colonel Badd posters up for film festival”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cannes confessions #4: Behind-the-scenes festival pics | London, Hollywood - May 19, 2013

    […] For more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and posters here. […]

  2. Cannes confessions #5: the publicity stunt Queens and (Jonathan) Kings of Cannes | London, Hollywood - May 20, 2013

    […] For more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and posters here. […]

  3. Cannes confessions #6: the night time is the right time | London, Hollywood - May 21, 2013

    […] For more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and posters here. […]

Leave a Reply

