Colonel Badd: out-takes from our short, showing at Cannes

29 Apr

The director of Colonel Badd,  the 15-minute short I co-wrote centring on an interview with a retired supervillain, has just put some out-takes on Vimeo. I’m in the poker scene (of course!), with an American accent and a hook for a hand. Do please help yourself to a slice of my ham (click the image above).

I always enjoyed acting. My Toad of Toad Hall was a hit when I was 12; and at 16 my Chrysale in Moliere’s Les Femmes Savantes went down well with those who could follow the French, even if the blond leg hairs sticking through my black tights made me resemble a geriatric hedgehog.

Hugh Grant was at my Oxford college, two years above me. But whereas he got to star in a student-made feature film called Privileged overseen by John Schlesinger – I recall Hugh stripped to the waist, carrying a deer on his shoulders across the Cherwell river – all the drama productions I successfully auditioned for collapsed before I could act in them. And so expired my thespian dreams along with, presumably, a 13-year marriage to Liz Hurley ending ignominiously in a parked car with prostitute Divine Brown.

Yesterday was also the cast & crew screening of the final cut of Colonel Badd. It was wonderful to see the featurette edited down, with music, and extra reverb for the succession of villainous laughs Colonel Badd tries out to “get in character”, as Tarantino would put it.

Next stop, Cannes – where both Colonel Badd and Filth, which Tony Errico also directed, have been accepted into the Short Film Corner. If anyone who reads this is heading to the festival, message me for a cocktail on the Croisette!

My Cannes 2013 reports start here. My diary extracts from the amazing 1997 Cannes Film Festival start here.

4 Responses to “Colonel Badd: out-takes from our short, showing at Cannes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cannes confessions #4: Behind-the-scenes festival pics | London, Hollywood - May 19, 2013

    […] more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and posters […]

  2. Cannes confessions #5: the publicity stunt Queens and (Jonathan) Kings of Cannes | London, Hollywood - May 20, 2013

    […] more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and […]

  3. Cannes confessions #6: the night time is the right time | London, Hollywood - May 21, 2013

    […] more about my own film in the Short Film Corner, Colonel Badd, see outtakes here and […]

  4. #11: Absolutely positively the very last Cannes diary extract from 1997. In which Mike Leigh is a “patronising twat” | London, Hollywood - July 26, 2013

    […] that, 15 years later, I’d be back with a short film of my own I had co-written, Colonel Badd: see here. My previous 1997 Cannes diary extracts start […]

Leave a Reply

