Hooray for London Hollywood: 5 highlights from 1 year and 100 blog posts

19 Nov

Image

This is my 100th post. It’s also a year since I started LondonHollywood.net.

A big thank you to all readers, with an extra peck on the cheek to anyone who Shares or Retweets or even Comments when they like a post.

I’m passionate about film; that’s why I do this. It’s good to spread the love. [Though if any commissioning editors read this, I am still more than happy to write for money, as well as love!]

In celebration of a year of blogging, these were the highlights. Click the links to read the posts.

Most popular: My four-part interview with Benedict Cumberbatch, ranging from Sherlock to Madonna to his time with Tibetan monks. The Cumberbabes went nuts for this — at one stage racking up 3,000 views a day

Most unpopular: To the horror of many, I greeted Django Unchained with something less than rapture. Now that I have seen 12 Years A Slave (coming soon to this blog), I stand by my opinion even more firmly. 

Most epic: Colonel Badd, the short film I co-wrote, was accepted into the Court Métrage section of the Cannes Film Festival. I went out there, writing 11 blogs: half were from this trip, half from my 1997 diary from when I went out there with Jon Ronson as Editor of Time Out. Divine madness, with a cast that includes Troma’s Lloyd Kaufman, Jonathan King, Alan Parker, Paul Kaye and the Spice Girls. 

Only slightly less epic: I wrote ten blogs on the recent London Screenwriters’ Festival, for those who couldn’t be there, ranging from one-on-one interviews to panels on better writing. Four posts were on the irrepressible Joe “Basic Instinct” Eszterhas, the highest-paid screenwriter of all time. Trust me, they’re a hoot. 

Most controversial: I wrote two blogs about heart-breaking YouTube videos by bullied teens, two of whom went on to commit suicide. One man, ‘Philip Rose’, wrote to me many times, at some length, saying the story of Amanda Todd is not all it seems; he then started his own blog, here. Intriguing. Murky. Very hard to unravel. 

So there it is. Hope to see you back here soon (bring your friends!), and here’s to the next year. A short version of this URL, btw, is www.londonhollywood.net.

One Response to “Hooray for London Hollywood: 5 highlights from 1 year and 100 blog posts”

  1. Philip Rose November 21, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Thanks for the mention, Dominic, and thanks for your sort of encouragement at the beginning. As you probably know, the tale became murkier, but perhaps not in the way people expected, with Ms Todd turning out not to be quite the recounter of a true life story as we thought. Then we had Hannah Smith, of course, and the oddity of digital self harm, and poor old Daniel Perry, whose story doesn’t seem to have got the attention it needed. However – some good news. Having spent nearly a year being hounded and harassed for saying things that people thought outrageous and untrue, nearly 100% of what I was saying was vindicated in a recent documentary in Canada.
    Again – thanks for extending some trust and faith in me (it seems like a century ago). Have a good Christmas and an even better New Year!

Leave a Reply

